3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2012 6:22 AM by philmodjunk

Email contacts from portal using radio button Boolean values to select records

EllaMonson

Title

Email contacts from portal using radio button Boolean values to select records

Using: FileMaker Pro 12 Advanced

Hi there

I am a Filemaker beginner/novice (no experience in scripting or calculations though I am willing to learn), and I have a database with related tables as below. The tables are related through a junction table Contacts_Projects; Contacts_Programs etc

Relationships:

• Contacts:Projects
      • Contacts:Programs
      • Contacts:Submissions
      • Contacts:Jobs

There are portals in the tables Projects, Programs, Submissions and Jobs which show the Contacts related to each record therein.

Each portal has a radio button field with Boolean values (yes/no). This field is stored in the relevant junction table.

I want to be able to:

1. Have this Boolean field available in each row of the portal
      2. Connect a ‘Send Email’ button to all contacts that have a ‘yes’ value selected in their row of the portal.

The email addresses are stored in the table “Contacts”. Each contact can potentially have two associated emails stored in the fields “Personal Email” and “Business Email”, and I’d like the email generated to be sent to both emails via my email client.

Any assistance in how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ella

• 1. Re: Email contacts from portal using radio button Boolean values to select records
          philmodjunk

1) base your portal on the junction table and include fields from the other, related table (contacts?) on the far side of the junction table to supply name on other such info. Then you can include the radio button field as well.