14 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2012 9:36 PM by TraceyLillis

Email script to send a PDF invoice

DonRoberts

Title

Email script to send a PDF invoice

I am new to Filemaker.  I have created a file with a demographic database.  I want to send an email to each person in the database with an invoice that is customized for that individual.  I have created the invoice as a layout.  I have tried to create a script that will save the invoice as a PDF and then create an email with that PDF attached.  I understand that a "filepath" has to be created to do that and that I have to use a variable to make a temporary file into which the pdf will be placed.  The pdf then gets attached to the email.  I am not sure how to create a temporary filepath (OSX), save the pdf and retrieve it.

Thanks for your help!

• 1. Re: Email script to send a PDF invoice
          philmodjunk

This method works for both Mac and Windows:

Set Variable [$FilePath ; Value: Get ( TemporaryPath ) & "Filename.PDF"]

• 2. Re: Email script to send a PDF invoice
            DonRoberts

Realize you are dealing with a rookie here:

1.  Do I write the script step exactly as you have above, or do I need to change the script specifically for my database? For instance, do I change "Filename.PDF" to "Myfilename.PDF"

2.  Now when I script the "send email" step, what do I  put in the attachment dialogue under "specify" so that it gets attached?

Thanks for your help!

• 3. Re: Email script to send a PDF invoice
              philmodjunk

1) Yes, you need to customize it to match what you need. "Filename.PDf" is just a place holder. You can use literal text in quotes here like you describe or you can write a calculation that pulls data from a field or fields in your database.

2) Put the variable name in the Specify File dialog that opens after you click the attach file check box.

• 4. Re: Email script to send a PDF invoice
                DonRoberts