2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2008 9:59 AM by scottgh

Entering and viewing multiple values

Ariel

Title

Entering and viewing multiple values

Hi, I am working with an existing library database, where one book can have multiple authors, subjects, library locations, etc.

So for example, to relate books and authors, my database includes the following tables:

Book

-Book ID

-Title

-ISBN

Author

-Author ID

-Last Name

-First Name

Book_Author

-Author ID

-Book ID

My goal is for all these fields - Book Title, ISBN, author(s), subject(s) - to look like a single seamless "record" per book to the end user. So, within a single book "record," we need the ability to view multiple authors per book, as well as the ability to enter multiple authors when creating new book records.

Ideally, all values entered would be validated against value lists (e.g., the Author list or the Subject list), and new values (e.g., new Authors) could easily be added.

I’m new to FileMaker, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Entering and viewing multiple values
          TSGal

Ariel:

It appears that you have all the necessary fields in all three tables.

If you haven't already created these tables, launch FileMaker Pro and create a new database.  At any time, you can pull down the File menu and select "Manage -> Database..."  This allows you to create the three tables, the fields for each table, and then in your Relationship graph, you can take the BookID field from your Book table and drag it to the Book ID field in the Book_Author table.  This now connects the two tables together.  Do the same with the Author ID field in the Author table to the Author ID field in the Book_Author table.