7 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2012 2:22 PM by GuyStevens

Entering Data fro m One Layout to Multiple Tables

JackLogan

Title

Entering Data fro m One Layout to Multiple Tables

Hi, I am very new to filemaker pro 11 and am having trouble figuring this out. Im sure its something simple and am hoping someone can help me out.

I basically have an inventory db with 4 tables as can be seen in the picture.

The relationship between the 4 tables is this

For Each Store(customer) I can have many Store SV Numbers(Invoice).

Each Store SV Number(Invoice) can have one or more Part NUmbers(Product). Which is why i made the Store SV Line Table(Join Table) as a Join table.

Instead of having multiple layouts for entering very little information. How do i add all the relevant data from the first 3 tables as a form for entering new records on the Inventory Layout screen.

Also, How do i get the foreign key of a child table to autopopulate with the primary key ID of a parent table based on a field common to both tables. For example,

If i have a product with a part number of 001554 and primary key of 1 assigned. How do i get the Join Table to automatically populate the primary key in the foreign key field by simply typing in the part number 001554 in the Child table.

PLease Help!

Relationship.JPG

• 1. Re: Entering Data fro m One Layout to Multiple Tables
          GuyStevens

You should be able to make a layout based on your "Store" table.

Then you can just add fields from the other tables on your layout.

Just make sure that you double click the "Equal" sign in the relationship graph to enable "Allow creation of records via this relationship" on the side of the child table (right side) for every relationship.

You can also choose wether or not to select "delete records in this table when a record is deleted in the other table".

But that depends on whether you need it or not.