8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2014 10:09 AM by philmodjunk

Entering fields/Importing fields into a Word 2011 Document

MikeKent

Title

Entering fields/Importing fields into a Word 2011 Document

I am an attorney looking for a solution regarding fillable fields in commonly used legal forms.  As I build my forms library I am discovering that certain data needs to be entered for each case (case number, names of the parties, dates, etc...).  Currently, my templates have place holders that I delete for each client, enter the relevant information and then go to the next place saver.  Not only is it tedious, but the potential to miss a data point is very real and can delay a filing.  I don't like Adobe's solution of static fields (it looks messy on the filing) and Word has a developer section but there are limitations.  I would like to be able to enter fields into my documents so that those fields alone are editable from case to case but the rest of the document remains static.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I'm a brand new user so I'm out of my element here. Thank you very much.

• 1. Re: Entering fields/Importing fields into a Word 2011 Document
          philmodjunk

FileMaker can use Export Records to export data to create a "merge" file. This file type was specifically created many years ago in order to facilitate importing this data into MS Word to use to create "Form letter" type output by combining data from the merge file with text set up to use with it in MS Word. I haven't had to use this method in many, many years, but if you can puzzle out the MS Word side of this via their online help, it should still work.