9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2014 2:16 PM by philmodjunk

entity relationship diagram

kenne120

Title

entity relationship diagram

Is there somewhere I could submit my relationships diagram for other more experienced users to critique? I am new to FileMaker, and while I think I have a solid idea of how to relate all the data that I need to work with, it would be helpful to run the diagram by some more experienced eyes who could catch potential issues that I might miss due to my inexperience. 

Thank you!

• 1. Re: entity relationship diagram
          philmodjunk

You can upload graphic images such as a screen shot of Manage | Database | Relationships directly to your next post to this forum provided you use the controls below Post a new Image and use a file format from the list of formats listed next to the controls for selecting an image to upload.

But I suggest that you not just upload an image of the ER. How you need the database to function for you is crucial to developing an effective data model and that info won't be in your ER diagram so please also provide a narrative description of what you want to accomplish to help others should they choose to analyze your ER diagram.

• 2. Re: entity relationship diagram
            kenne120

The database I have been asked to create will organize information about students who have completed programming through our office. (We are a teacher education/enrichment program based within the college of education at a large state university.) The students in our database are all current or past students of the university, and all of them have a unique 9-digit student ID number issued through the university. (UID)