3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2015 8:53 AM by philmodjunk

Envelope - Company with Multiple The Person In Charge

HandriKent_1

Title

Envelope - Company with Multiple The Person In Charge

Hi ,

I am very new in FMP13 and I wonder if I can get some guide from here.

I am using FMP13 for making Company Database for printing the envelope.

I have a table with this fields :

1.  Serial#
      3. Company Name
      5. Department
      7. ThePersonInCharge
      9. PostCode
      11. Address1 
      13. Address2

I have those in 1 table.

I want to build a database which can make me to create a records which I can choose ThePersonInCharge in the same company and pick the Department base on the company's its owned.

Which every times I create a record, which I can put a new value in the Department and the ThePersonInCharge or I can pick from drop-down menu from the value that I ever entered before.

The purpose is for me to print an envelope  from a layout (printing), which the value can be picked from a menu or entered as a new record.

Please kindly help me.

Thanks in advance for reading and giving your time for this.

Regards,

HK

• 1. Re: Envelope - Company with Multiple The Person In Charge
          philmodjunk

Sounds like you need two tables where you currently have one:

Departments>-----Company

Company::__pkCompanyID = Departments::_fkCompanyID

For an explanation of the notation that I am using, see the first post of: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained

this allows you to have one record for each department and one record for each company. This also allows you to set up a conditional value list where, from a given record in company, you get a drop down list, pop up menu etc of just the persons in charge and departments for that one company.

If you don't know how to create a conditional value list, see this free Adventures in FileMaking demo file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/oj15fqp1uakg0d7/Adventure%201%20CVLs.fmp12?dl=0