1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2013 12:15 PM by philmodjunk

ERD for Athlete Assessments

LeftyKJ

Title

ERD for Athlete Assessments

I'm new to databases and FM12, but have already been through a lot of educational material and catching on.  That said, I am trying to create a database where I can track a bunch of athletes (name, age, sport, etc.).  These athletes can then take an assessment which contains one or many protocols.  Assessment and protocol may seem synonymous but an assessment is based on the date and the athlete that then includes different protocols.  Protocols include a category, name and unit of measurement.

I want to figure how to track all these and eventually build in a dashboard table where I can track the progress of athletes, compare athletes to other athletes or a group of athletes based on criteria (age, graduation year, sport, gender, etc.).  

Attached is an image of my relationship map so far.  Performance Dashboard is empty because its for later.  

Can someone please get me started down the right path and advise what to do next? Thank youuuuuuuuuuu

ERD011813.png

• 1. Re: ERD for Athlete Assessments
          philmodjunk

Can you give some examples of the type of "tracking" that you have in mind? There are a lot of possibilities that meet that description.

I don't think you'll need your dashboard table. Most likely, you'll be able to work from layouts that reference some combination of Athletes and Assessments.

• 2. Re: ERD for Athlete Assessments
            LeftyKJ

Some tracking I would like to include is:

1. Top 10 scores for a test, like a leaderboard, that I can filter.  An example would be the top 10 40-yard sprint leaders.  

2.  Individuals progress and  Personal Records.  I can graph a person's 40 yard sprint times and also show what their all time best is.

I would want to be able to filter these by:

A. Date (all-time, past month, week, etc.)

B. Athlete Groups (gender, sport, age, etc.)