5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2009 11:25 AM by mrvodka

Error modifying record in ESS database

ChrisG.

Title

Error modifying record in ESS database

Hi,

I'm a newbie user of FM Pro 10 (Mac), connecting to an oracle database using ODBC. The database was set up by our IS department for a project I administer and resides on their server.

I've added a table from the database using File->Manage->Database..., and I can add records to it. The problem I have is that if I try to modify a record, I always get the error "This record was modified by another user since you started editing it." even if no one else is accessing the database. I have no idea how to troubleshoot this or figure out what it is about my configuration that is causing this. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thanks. 

• 1. Re: Error modifying record in ESS database
          mrvodka

FileMaker itself uses Pessimistic locking which prevents anyone from editing the record once someone has started editing it. However, when writing to the other databases with the ESS feature it uses optimistic locking. Therefore, if anything has touched the ESS record, it while you started editing the record, you will get this message asking you if you want to update it.

Either a user or a process could have updated the record. It doesnt have to be via FileMaker. For example, if you are using a MySQL db for the web and someone modifies the record while you were editing the same ercord via ESS. Or it can be updated via an Execute SQL statement  that you may have called as well...

• 2. Re: Error modifying record in ESS database
            ChrisG.

Thanks for the reply. That makes sense.