4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2012 12:41 PM by davidanders

Etiquette - Where to place a Runtime

dzittin

Title

Etiquette - Where to place a Runtime

Hi,

My background is mostly Unix so I am not especially knowledgeable about where I should place an FM Pro runtime. I know that system-wide .exe files are placed in the Program Files folder. 

I have done this with my FM runtime during testing. However, the .USR file is going to grow and it will likely grow at a good clip from around 2.7 MB clean to perhaps more than 100 MB after the user adds data.

Two things bother my about placing the runtime in Program Files:

1. It is not a usual place to store an ever growing data file.
      2. It is not usually backed up by users so a disk crash would mean a catastrophic loss of data
      I need some advice from the community. Where should I install my RT? Can I install in Programfiles and do something like a symlink to the USR file and store that in \Documents and Settings\username\application data? How is this normally handled?
      Thanks for the help!
      -D

• 1. Re: Etiquette - Where to place a Runtime
          philmodjunk

I wouldn't put Filemaker runtime folders in the programs folder--even though it contains an exe file. This can result in a USR (data) file that is read only and thus opens with a warning that "this file is not modifiable". As I recall, this is particularly the case with Windows 7 systems.

• 2. Re: Etiquette - Where to place a Runtime
            dzittin

"I wouldn't put Filemaker runtime folders in the programs folder--even though it contains an exe file. This can result in a USR (data) file that is read only and thus opens with a warning that "this file is not modifiable". As I recall, this is particularly the case with Windows 7 systems."

Yes, this is what started the process - an unwritable USR file. The file in the Programs folder can be made modifiable, but only by an administrator which is not going to work for general distribution.