Dubs

Title

Event Management - Problems

1.) I am fairly new to Filemaker Pro and am using Filemaker Pro 7

2.) I am on a PC

I have created a database to contain 4 tables

Organisation - Venue - Event - Contacts

Likewise I have created 4 layouts each the same as above

I have then created 4 unique ID's fields for each, ie Organisation ID, Event ID etc to try and link them

Now I can display 1 event  under the contact by matching the event ID but there can be more than one event relating to the contact so how do i display the other event/s?

On the contacts layout I am trying to display all of the events relating to that contact but, I can't. Each event has a unique EVENT ID but how can i display the multiple events to the one contact, on the Contacts Layout?

Forgive me if I have explained this poorly and feel free to ask any questions.

• 1. Re: Event Management - Problems
          philmodjunk

You've encountered the classic many to many relationship issue that all relational database developers encounter at some point. For one event you could have many contacts and for one contact you can have many events. The solution is to create a "join table" that links your contacts and events tables like this:

Contacts::ContactsID = Events_Contacts::ContactsID

Events::EventID=Events_Contacts::EventID

1 record in Events_Contacts one contact attending one event. Events_Contacts need only have two fields, EventID and ContactsID, though you can add others if you need to document other information specific to that one contact attending that one event. (The price paid for admission might be one example.)

On a contacts layout, you can place a portal to Events_Contacts and add fields from Events to the portal. This portal will then list all events linked to the current contact record.

On an Events layout, you can place this same type of portal but add fields from Contacts to produce a list of all contacts linked to the current event record.

Make sense?