11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2015 8:14 AM by ZacherieWalker

Exclude text if found in a field

ZacherieWalker

Title

Exclude text if found in a field

I'm writing a script to evaluate a group of fields and a problem I've been having is excluding certain "phrases" and the text that follows it.  In this case, I'm trying to look for any "NOTES" that could be found in a field and exclude everything that follows it.

I'm still a bit new to the text parsing and I haven't been able to quite figure it out.  Is this possible or am I just too hopeful thinking?  

Also, things to consider: The notes could be found anywhere within the fields the script is evaluating.  It's a typical practice to put notes at the end of the field.  All the text before the note is typically important and will be used 95% of the time, given a couple situations where it wouldn't.  

• 1. Re: Exclude text if found in a field
          philmodjunk

The key phrase that I am using as the basis for my response is "exclude everything after it".

Position ( YourText ; "Notes" ; 1 ; 1 )

will return the position of the "N" in Notes.

Left ( yourText ; Position ( yourtext ; "Notes" ; 1 ; 1 ) - 1 )

will return all text to the left of "N" in notes. You might want to enclose this expression in a Trim function call to remove any trailing space characters between that "n" and the word that immediately precedes it:

Trim ( Left ( yourText ; Position ( yourtext ; "Notes" ; 1 ; 1 ) - 1 ) )

• 2. Re: Exclude text if found in a field
            ZacherieWalker

Thank you for your response, Phil.  Appreciated as always!