4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2014 1:24 PM by philmodjunk

ExicuteSQL problem

RossEwing

Title

ExicuteSQL problem

Hello all, I am new to FileMaker and Even Newer to SQL so any help is appreciated.

I am working on a Staff scheduling solution and one calculation is killing me. I have the following tables: Employee_Info, Stagehand_Shifts, Interface. My layout uses filtered portals to show a calendar for employees and I want to show a weekly total of the amount of scheduled hours for each week for each employee. I will use 5 repetitions of this calculation for each of the displayed weeks. I am able to use ExicuteSQL to return Total Hours per Employee, but when I try to use WHERE to restrict records to a date range i get no results.

How do I need to structure the Query to filter out unwanted records. Here is what I have so far.

ExecuteSQL (
           "SELECT Employee_ID,
           Sum (Total_Shift_Hours) 
           FROM Stagehand_Shifts
           GROUP BY Employee_ID"
           ; "," ; "" ; "")

Thank you

• 1. Re: ExicuteSQL problem
          philmodjunk

How is the date range specified? To dates in date fields? A calculated range of dates based on the value of Get ( CurrentDate) ? Or ???

Is there a field of type date defined in Stagehand_Shifts to use for limiting the records to a date range?

And example of your query showing one of your attempts at a WHERE clause might be helpful in helping us to help you.

• 2. Re: ExicuteSQL problem
            RossEwing

For the date range I am planning on using a calculation field from the Interface table cDateoffirstportal, that calculates the date for the first day in the calendar, then I just need that same day + 7 to get my date range, I believe I need to say "BETWEEN cDateoffirstportal AND cDateoffirstportal +7"

cDateoffirstportal is as follows

Let ( [

FirstDayOfTheMonth = DayName ( Date ( gSelectedMonth ; 1 ; gSelectedYear ) ) ] ;

Date ( gSelectedMonth ; 2 ; gSelectedYear ) -

Case (