9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2011 10:48 AM by philmodjunk

Export multiple records as single pdfs

cb

Title

Export multiple records as single pdfs

hi guys, 

I need a script to export multiple records as pdfs.

I want to take the first entry from each record and use it as the filename for the pdf.

I want it to automate without dialogues.

So after the script runs I have a bunch of pdfs, all individually named, which represent a single record from my database.

any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks

• 2. Re: Export multiple records as single pdfs
          cb

Thanks for your swift reply.

I've tried this so far.

Loop
             Save records as PDF[//perform without dialogue; select current record option; title $field]
             Go To Record/Request/page [next ; Exit after last]
          End Loop

I get a dialogue box every time.

I want to create new pdfs but using the info in one of my fields as the file name.

Where am I going wrong? 

I am quite new to Filemaker. 

thanks

• 3. Re: Export multiple records as single pdfs
            cb

Update:

When I Specify a pdf, it overwrites it with different record info each time.

It is changing the title field, I just need it to change the filename now, and to create more than one pdf.

Thanks

• 4. Re: Export multiple records as single pdfs
              philmodjunk

Here's how I save a PDF to a filename specified in a field:

Set Variable [$FilePath ; Value: "file:" & Get ( DesktopPath ) & Table::FieldName & ".PDF"]
              Save Records as PDF [Restore; no dialog; $FilePath ; current record]

Note that $FilePath has both a file name and the location to where the file will be stored. In this example, the file is saved to the desktop. There are any number of expressions you can use to produce a valid filepath here, it depends on where you want the PDF to be stored and whether you are doing this on a Mac or Windows computer.