7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2012 7:08 AM by RT

Exporting records exports all records and not just the found set - Why?

RT

Title

Exporting records exports all records and not just the found set - Why?

I am a Filemaker novice but have an issue that I really don't understand and is driving me crazy. I am almost certain I am being extremely dense somehow.

I have a database of books (consisting of two files (one with the data and one with the interface which has the tables in). I have a script in the interface file that produces a found set of records and returns them into a list. This all seems to work correctly. Except when I come to export the list of the found set it then exports all the records in the database.

Has anyone got any suggestions why it does this? Is driving me slowly mad. I suspect it may be something to do with the separation model but is just a guess.

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Robin

• 1. Re: Exporting records exports all records and not just the found set - Why?
          philmodjunk

Immediately after the export, what found set do you have?

What exact steps do you use to export the data? Do you use a script or do it by hand from the File menu?

• 2. Re: Exporting records exports all records and not just the found set - Why?
            RT

Many thanks. The found set in the database remains the same - But, the exported file has all the records in the database. The exported file is an XML file - Not sure if that makes any difference.

The export is run from a script.

• 3. Re: Exporting records exports all records and not just the found set - Why?
              philmodjunk

I need to see that script.

To post a script to the forum:

1. You can upload a screen shot of your script by using the Upload an Image controls located just below Post A Answer.
              2. You can print a script to a PDF, open the PDF and then select and copy the script as text from the opened PDF to your clipboard for pasting here.