6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2012 12:55 PM by aklobby

Extract Data from Piggybacked Field

aklobby

Title

Extract Data from Piggybacked Field

Filemaker beginner here and silly me tried to do an advanced trick without full knowledge of what I was doing. Using a data separation model and an oblgatory create, I created a field to hold all phone numbers and a field to hold all emails, this lets me enter multiple phone numbers and label them home, work etc.... I am then able to view this data in a web viewer and it is really cool.

The problem I am having is now I need to use a phone number and an email as a primary number or email address and do not know how to do this. Can I somehow mark one of the numbers with a check box or button and have that copy into another field? If so, what calculation would work to accomplish this?

Any advice (like, don't quit your day job) or any assistance is greatly appreciated. 

Allison

• 1. Re: Extract Data from Piggybacked Field
          philmodjunk

Is each phone number in a separate record of a related table?

Do you use a portal to display them?

If so, do you have a relationship similar to this?

Contacts-----<PhoneNumbers

Contacts::__pkContactID = PhoneNumbers::_fkContactID

(See first post of: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained if this notation is not familiar.)

If so, you can add a field to contacts:: PrimaryPhone and use it to store the contents of __pkPhoneID--the primary key field that defines a specific phone number record in PhoneNumbers. Then you can add this relationship:

In Manage | Database | relationships, make a new table occurrence of PhoneNumbers by clicking it and then clicking the duplicate button (2 green plus signs). You can double click the new occurrence box to get a dialog to appear where you can rename the new occurrence box to be PrimaryPhoneNumber.

We have not duplicated a table. Instead, this is a new reference to the same table already present in your database.