3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2009 10:11 AM by Lordylordy

Fastest Filemaker Solution

Lordylordy

Title

Fastest Filemaker Solution

Hi fellow Filemakers!

I have been working with Filemaker for over 10 years now, recently progressing to v.9 running on Vista Business.

I have been working with files of over 1 million user records relating to c. 2 million transactional records and have had frequent crashes recently.

The chaps at Filemaker assure me it isn't a Vista issue, so I recently upgraded to a new machine with 8gb RAM. To be able to address this volume of RAM you need to be running 64-bit (I'm told), but of course Filemaker don't support 64-bit.

I can downgrade back to 32-bit, but then I'm back where I started.

We have a couple of FM Server licenses which we haven't been using, I think because the server we had was a bit old.

Getting to the point, finally, could someone recommend the fastest solution to run Filemaker on? We're a relatively small user group - 3 or 4 of us - all with different specced PC's. Is a server version the best way to go - I seem to remember complications with server when we previously installed it - or are high specced 'client' machines just as fast, albeit working off a server where they are stored (rather than served)?

I'll need to get the expense of a new server signed off by the purseholders, simultaneosly admitting that my expensive new machine can't run Filemaker to it's full capability.

Thanks all! 

• 1. Re: Fastest Filemaker Solution
          GreaterThanData

Hello.  With what you are describing ... I'm sure we can get the data stable.  There are many factors involved here including the server hardware and software specs as well as networking equipment and probably most importantly, the database itself (scripting, layouts, relationship issues, etc), but with a little patience and persistence we can absolutely get the system stable.