6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2010 4:32 PM by DLW-BPEX

Field Based Graphics

Tacitus

Title

Field Based Graphics

I'm a newbie to FMP development and have been handed a database which appears to make use of 'field based graphics' - not sure if this is the correct term.  Basically it seems to use container fields for storing graphic items.  

I'm not sure of the benefits of this, but could anyone point me to any books/training materials that give a detailed explanation of the technique and how it's used.

I'd rather get some idea of what I'm supposed to be doing before I get stuck in.  

Any help appreciated.

• 1. Re: Field Based Graphics
          mrvodka

A container field in FileMaker can store an image, file, other binary items embedded in the field itself or just as a reference to the actual file.

Depending on how it was originally inserted into the container field, it would make a difference whether or not you could delete the actual files for example.

The container field can be placed on the layout to display the image or shortcut to the file.

• 2. Re: Field Based Graphics
            Tacitus

It looks as though the method has been used for layout and design purposes rather than as a data repository.  

I think how it's been done is that a list/table of graphic elements has been created, and then instead of an actual graphic element being used in the layout, a shortcut/alias is used to link backt.  

The only benefit of this would seem to be that there is only one image and it's the links from the placeholders that do the work.  I guess it would make it easier to propagate a change throughout the database by changing a single item with no need to change the links. 

Very helpful thanks.  Do you know of anywhere this technique is explained in more detail?  There doesn't appear to be anything specific in the FMP Missing Manual series., or AFAICT in the FM training material.

• 3. Re: Field Based Graphics
              DLW-BPEX

Tacitus,