8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2011 4:03 PM by philmodjunk

Field Display Question

ShaunHamid

Title

Field Display Question

Hi,

I have been building a show media tracker for awhile now and I run in to occasional problems that I could use help with.  I have a master Show table which is parent to an Episode table which then is a parent to a Media table which stores how much and what kinds of media (i.e. video tape, DVD, etc.). 

I have a layout that displays records from the Episode table which is a tracker.  On this layout is a portal which displays information from the Media table.  I have it set so the info displayed is pulled from a dropdown list which draws from a list of full names for media but shows from a second abbreviated version of the information as some names are too long to display appropriately on the Episode table layout.

My question is, when I go to the layout for the Media table which shows each record for the media, can I instead show the longer name instead while keeping the shorter name on the Episode layout?  It feels like it could be something simple, but I cannot figure out how.

Thanks for any help as always.

Shaun

• 1. Re: Field Display Question
          mgores

Yes you can use the longer name on a different layout.  For a given Media record you could display Media::LongName or Media::ShortName or both.  As long as the relationship keys are set up to display the proper record, you can display whatever fields from that record pretty much however you want on a layout.

• 2. Re: Field Display Question
            ShaunHamid

I'm sorry if I missed something, but how would I do that?

• 3. Re: Field Display Question
              mgores

If you associate a Media record with a Episode record, you can display fields from the Media record on the Episode layout and vice versa.  Which fields you display, longname or short name, are up to you

• 4. Re: Field Display Question
                philmodjunk