4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2012 12:19 PM by Frances

Field Formatting - Auto Entry - Customer ID

Frances

Title

Field Formatting - Auto Entry - Customer ID

I'm new to Filemaker and wonder if someone may be able to help with regard to formatting a field.

I would like a field to automatically generate data based on the first three letters of a customer's surname field followed by a sequential 3 digit number. 

For example, a customer called John Smith would have a customer ID of SMI001.  A second customer called Peter Smith would need to have an ID of SMI002.  If a third customer was called Williams they should have an ID of WIL001.

If it is possible to perform this calculation, I hope to be able to create a relationship with other tables whereby once the ID is entered the customer's details appear.  For example, customer details appearing on a quotation table.

Any help would be much appreciated, I have already spent hours trying to work this out myself, but I'm confident someone on the forum will have the knowledge.

Many thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Field Formatting - Auto Entry - Customer ID
          philmodjunk

Why use this numbering method instead of just a simple auto-entered serial number with no letters?

What you want can be done, but implementaion is much more complex and if your database is hosted over a network such that multiple users may be creating records for new customers at the same time, it can be tricky to keep duplicate values from appearing where this is not an issue with an auto-entered serial number.

I suspect that there are other ways to get what you want where your relationships can remain based on a simple serial number, but a field in Customers can store this value if it is needed.

• 2. Re: Field Formatting - Auto Entry - Customer ID
            Frances