7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2011 11:18 AM by AnitaWoods

Field names in a value list

AnitaWoods

Title

Field names in a value list

I am a FM beginner, with a db with a date field called "EDD" that uses a value list that comes from a calculated field called "EDDvaluelist" (text result):

List ( (EDD by EDC) ; (EDD by US) ; (EDD by CD) ; (EDD by LMP) )

EDD by EDC is a date field
      EDD by US is a date field
      EDD by CD is a calculated field, date result
      EDD by LMP is a calculated field, date result

The user can then choose one of four dates to populate EDD (date type).  The user's choice of EDD is then used in yet another date calculated field called "WGA".  The EDDvaluelist must be text result to display the four possible dates correctly, and EDD must be date type to be used in the WGA calculation.  

What I need is for the user to be able to SEE the fieldname in the value list, so they know the specifics on which date they are choosing.  I want the value list to look like this:
      01/06/12 EDD by LMP
      01/01/12 EDD by CD
      01/11/12 EDD by US
      01/12/12 EDD by EDC

I can get this done if EDDvaluelist is a concatenation, but when I do that, EDD must be text type to accommodate the concatenation, and thus cannot be used in the WGA date calculation.  Any ideas on how to make this work?  I keep thinking "also display values from a second field" may be useful in the value list, but how?

• 1. Re: Field names in a value list
          Abhaya

Hello Anita,

I saw your question and here giving some best answer from my point of view.

Suppose you have 2 DATE type fields Date1 and Date2.Make a constant1 selfrelationship among your current table here(test)

test::cons1=test2::cons1(this is the self join table).

MAke another calculation field D_valuelist that takes  the list of date fields e.g D_valuelist=list(Date1,Date2)

Make 2 addional calculation field  like......

List1=list(test2::Date1)

List2=list(test2::Date2)