7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2014 12:54 PM by philmodjunk

Field with comma separated text

kgordon

Title

Field with comma separated text

I'm new to FMP so go easy on me here.  I've imported an excel file where the "years" field contains multiple years separated by commas so one record in the years field might read like this "2001, 2002, 2003".  Some records have one year and some have as many as 10 or more.  I'm using a portal and trying to filter it based on year search but FMP won't return any fields that have the multiple years in it.  Only if it has the one year I'm looking for by itself.  How can I set this up to filter it the way I want?

Thanks

Screen_Shot_2014-01-16_at_1.32.38_PM.png

• 1. Re: Field with comma separated text
          philmodjunk

Define this calculation field with "text" selected as the result type:

Substitute ( YearCommaField ; "," ; ¶ )

to turn your comma delimited list into a return delimited list. Let's call it cYearList.

Then you can use cYEarList as the match field in your portal relationship to match values by year and then specifying a year will match to any one of the return delimited values or you can use this expression in a portal filter calculation:

Not IsEmpty ( FilterValues ( PortalTable::cYearList ; LayoutTable::SelectedYear ) )

• 2. Re: Field with comma separated text
            kgordon