1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 14, 2009 9:01 AM by TSGal

File list

Lspaini

Title

File list

Hello

I am completely new to filemaker pro. I've been trying Bento before and I absolutely love it. However, I need Windows compatibility. I would like to make a switch to filemaker pro but i'm missing an important feature. I would like to create a "file list" field like in Bento where it only shows me the path to the folders or files without importing them. Is there a similar feature available on Filemaker pro?

Thanks in advance

Livio 

• 1. Re: File list
          TSGal

Lspaini:

Thank you for your post.

FileMaker Pro does not have a File List field like Bento, but you do have the ability to add a file to a Container field, and you can either store it internally or as a reference; the latter similar to Bento.  You can also make the Container field a repeating field allowing you to reference more than one file per record.  This is how it is done.

1. Pull down the File menu and select "Manage -> Database..."

2. Click the Fields tab (if not already active).

3. Create a new field named "Files" with the field type set to "Container".

4. Click OK and return to Browse Mode.

5. Put your cursor in "Files", pull down the Insert menu and select "File..."

6. Find the file you want to attach.  At the bottom of the dialog box, be sure to check the option, "Store only a reference to the file".

7. Once the file is attached/inserted, you can double-click the file, and the file will open in its native application.

If you want to store multiple files per record, return to "Manage -> Database...", select "Files" and click "Options...".  Next, click on the Storage tab, and under "Repeating", change the Maximum number of repetitions to 5 (or a number that is comfortable for you).